What I have learnt from my venture into craft fairs.

So last month I took the plunge and signed up for a stall at a local craft fair. I had very little stock and even less of a clue as to what to expect. It was great to set myself a challenge; I had little over a week to prepare. This really helped me to focus on what to sell. I also had to decide on my branding and packaging, needless to say I had little sleep leading up to that event!

As I am on a tight budget I couldn’t justify the expense of a banner so I decorated the front of my stall with bunting. This works well as I sell mini bunting sewing kits and mix and match bunting, plus, it looks pretty! I printed out a copy of my logo to fit a sheet of A4 paper and framed it in a bold black frame, to match my packaging. Rather than creating a price list, which I think can be too much for customers to take in, I used place cards to write my prices on. My business cards weren’t ready so I had a clip board and with paper with my logo printed onto it and invited people to provide their email address. This actually worked but wasn’t for everyone so I made sure that my business cards were ready for craft fair number two! Here is a photo of my stall:

Image

As you can see my products are laid down flat. This isn’t ideal as I was making my customers work to see what I had on offer in comparison to other stalls who had their products displayed at different levels. I don’t drive so it is important that I can fit my stall into a suitcase. (Of course, driving lesson are accounted for on my business plan but that phase is months away!) For my next craft fair I borrowed a card stand and it really did help, you can see the difference in the photo below:

Image

Can you see me? I’m not intentionally hiding in this photo! I think the card stand really makes a difference so I will now get my thinking cap on for easy to transport solutions to making my stall much more interesting to look at – if you have a suggestion then please feel free to leave a comment!

During the second craft fair I received a lot of feedback on my products, which was most welcomed! I’m a far way off having the perfect stall but I really do think that craft fairs are a great way to get your product out there and to pick up tips from the more experienced stall holders.

The thing that really struck me as being quite remarkable from the two craft fairs I have sold at was the sense of community amongst the stall holders. Everyone is happy to share their wisdom and offer support to one another. I am looking forward to craft fair number three this Saturday just so that I can catch up with my new friends!

If anyone is interested, here is the poster:

Image

Hope to see you there!

One thought on “What I have learnt from my venture into craft fairs.

  1. Pingback: What’s Become of Craft Markets? | Crazywonderfullife

Leave a Reply

