DIY Christmas Star Decoration

Make a shabby chic Christmas wall decoration in under two hours!

Make a shabby chic Christmas wall decoration in under two hours!

The gold glitter ensures that your sparkly star will twinkle during day light hours as well as at night!

The gold glitter ensures that your sparkly star will twinkle during day light hours as well as at night!

You will need: 15 dry sticks, newspaper, string, scissors, gold spray paint, gold glitter, string of 100 fairy lights

You will need: 15 dry sticks, newspaper, string, scissors, gold spray paint, gold glitter, string of 100 fairy lights

Trim your sticks to your desired length. I just used my hands but you could use secateurs if you wish.

Trim your sticks to your desired length. I just used my hands but you could use secateurs if you wish.

Group the sticks into five sets of three.

Group the sticks into five sets of three.

Tie the ends of the stick bundles together with string. I used white so that it would show up in the photos but you may wish to use brown. Don't worry too much about the colour though as it will be covered in paint.

Tie the ends of the stick bundles together with string. I used white so that it would show up in the photos but you may wish to use brown. Don’t worry too much about the colour though as it will be covered in paint.

Arrange your stick bundles into a star shape and secure with string.

Arrange your stick bundles into a star shape and secure with string.

Spray your star (I used a whole can of paint) and sprinkle glitter all over it.

Spray your star (I used a whole can of paint) and sprinkle glitter all over it.

Pretty! Leave to dry in a well ventilated area.

Pretty! Leave to dry in a well ventilated area.

Secure some string to the back in order to hang to the wall. I used a standard picture hook to hang.

Secure some string to the back in order to hang to the wall. I used a standard picture hook to hang.

Draped your fairy lights around the star, my fairy lights reached around the star twice. I did try winding the fairy lights around the star but it looked too bulky. Hang on your wall, stand back and admire your handiwork!

Drape your fairy lights around the sticks, my fairy lights reached around the star twice. I did try winding the fairy lights around the star but it looked too bulky. Hang on your wall, stand back and admire your handiwork!

If you wish you could trim the ends of the branches to tidy it up but I prefer the rugged, shabby chic look. I may leave it up all year!

If you wish you could trim the ends of the branches to tidy it up but I prefer the rugged, shabby chic look. I may leave it up all year!

Leave a Reply

